The History of Raja Ampat

The History of Raja Ampat

The History of Raja Ampat

The History of Raja AmpatThe origin of Raja Ampat cannot be separated from the indigenous tribes who inhabit the largest island in Raja Ampat, Waigeu. Namely the Maya. Until now the original Raja Ampat tribe still lives on the island of Waigeu.

But they do not live in Waisei which is the Capital of Raja Ampat Regency, the Mayan tribe chose to remain in the interior.

According to Yohanes, who is now the secretary of the Mayan tribal council, the story of the origin of Raja Ampat cannot be separated from the story of the emergence of maya kings.

There are several versions of the story of the origin of the name Raja Ampat which is passed down from generation to generation in the lives of the indigenous people of the Raja Ampat islands. One version of this story is as follows.

Raja Ampat in terms of history In historical terms, the Raja Ampat Islands in the 15th century were part of the rule of the Sultanate of Tidore, a large kingdom centered on the Maluku Islands. To run its government, the Sultanate of Tidore appointed 4 local Kings to rule on the islands of Waigeo, Batanta, Salawati and Misool which are the 4 largest islands in the Raja Ampat archipelago to date. The term 4 Raja in governing the archipelago is the beginning of the name Raja Ampat. The regency which commemorates Birthday on May 9 is now a Regency in West Papua Province which was split from Sorong Regency in 2003. If we look at the map of the Province of West Papua, the location of this Regency is located in the western islands of the bird’s beak in Papua.

Raja Ampat Regency consists of approximately 610 islands which have a total beach length of 753 km.

The seat of government and capital of the Raja Ampat Regency is a city located on Waigeo Island, the city of Waisai. (gorampampat).

The Origin of the Name of Raja Ampat According to Myth
The origin of the name Raja Ampat according to community myths comes from a woman who found seven eggs.

Four items are described as hatching into four princes who separated and each became a ruling king in Waigeo, Salawati, East Misool and West Misool. Meanwhile, three other eggs became a ghost, a woman, and a stone.

The eggs are stored in noken (bags) and brought home, when they get home the eggs are stored in a room.

At night, they hear whispers, very surprised they compile they see in the room it turns out that all five eggs have hatched.

Then it took the form of four sons and one daughter, all perfectly refined that showed their perfect king.

Until now it was not clear who gave the names to the children but later recognized each of the children.

1. War becomes King of Waigeo.
2. Betani becomes King in Salawati.
3. Dohar becomes the King of Lilinta (Misool)
4. Mohamad became the King of Waigama.

While the daughter (named Pintolee), when the girl is pregnant.

Then by his brothers Pintolee was placed in a large bia (clam) skin then washed away until it was stranded on Numfor Island.

One more egg did not hatch and became a stone which was named Kapatnai and changed as a king who was given a place to live complete with two stones used as bodyguards on either side of the entrance.

Every day they are bathed and the water is poured on the community as baptism for the Kawe Tribe. Not every time this stone can be seen except once a year that is when it is bathed.